powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Whose nose?

Current Results
Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry dirtynerdluv.org

2001-09-13 - 11:58 a.m.

I've been putting off writing here b/c I feel like I have to address all this shit going on rather than just launch into how I think I might officially hate John Cusack, & all the new ideas I have for myself & Boreanaz.

I thought I was particularly astute for having that Malcolm X quote floating around my head for the past few days, the one about JFK's assasination being an example of chickens coming home to roost. The one he got so much shit for. But then I found out my friend Dave used that quote to address these issues at his open mic, so I'm not so damned cool & smart like I thought. It's an obvious comparison.

If you are confused & don't know where this terrorism is coming from or why it's happening, maybe something good can come of it - you can pick up a newspaper & see how the U.S. treats the rest of the world. You can think about what it means to live someplace else, where you are a target of the hugest bully in the world, instead of living in the bully's palm. This terror & grief that everyone is so astounded by is what the United States does to countless other countries every day. This is what imperialism is like. Blame for each & every death in NYC & elsewhere needs to be laid at the feet of the U.S. government.

Everyone who is an anti-racist (if you aren't, don't read my page because I'm not talking to you, ever) needs to really assert themselves right now. Don't let people say fucked up things in your workplace (easy for unemployed me to say). I know you can't actually keep people from saying shit, but you can answer them each & every time with your own opinion, & people who are listening will know there's another side & that pro-America racist patriotism will not go unchallenged.

Do not be complicit. Speak up. If something has even an undercurrent of anti-Arab sentiment, call it out. In these sickening times of heightened patriotism, it's not just the designated "enemy" (Arabs, Asians, whoever) that pays - it's all non-white people who are going to be more frequently attacked, as well as gay people & women, & even those straight white boys who actually stand up for us. Racist attacks, gaybashing, & attacks on women are all individual fingers on one fist. Um...one awkward, three fingered fist. You know what I'm saying.

Ida-Red sent me a good Michael Moore email, with info on how the U.S. gov't finds it convenient to scapegoat Osama bin Laden after having basically trained him. Not conspiracy theory, but public knowledge. Check out his website at michaelmoore.com, there are some articles although even he is, I think, still to the right politically (including the pope's statement & talking about prayers on his site? Why can't he apply his investigative methods to crazy Catholicism...& the entire idea of religion & God...please Michael?) of where people need to be. Still, he's always good for info & a leftier-than-most analysis.

Alright, I'm done. I'm going to post this entry & maybe edit it later to be more coherent. And later today I'll try to get to Cusack & Boreanaz. I just calls him 'naz.

"In our eyes, individual terror is inadmissible precisely because it belittles the role of the masses in their own consciousness, reconciles them to their powerlessness, and turns their eyes and hopes toward a great avenger and liberator who some day will come and accomplish his mission."

Leon Trotsky

"Against Individual Terrorism"

*perv* *next*

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!